May 29, 2007

Books and suits and thread, oh my!

Posted in books, family, thoughts at 4:31 am by sillydreamer

I finished reading “Love You, Mean It” over the week-end.  It’s written by four women who became widows because of the 9-11 attacks.  You can check out their website here if you are interested.  It was a very well written book but the subject matter was tough.  Even on the days that my husband irritates me, I’m glad he’s mine and I couldn’t imagine living without him.   

The shopping gods smiled down on us today.  Heather got all her shopping done except for a bathing suit so that’s awesome.  The four of us had a really good time and I’m thankful for that.

Speaking of bathing suits, I bought one a few weeks ago and after wearing it a couple of times, I’ve decided that I don’t like the way it fits.  I hate that.  I hate it because a.)I have to buy a new one and that’s an ordeal and b.)I wasted money.  I really don’t like to waste money so that chaps me more than having to go through picking out another one. 

I’ve decided that I am going to learn how to quilt.  I really am.  I really haven’t had any desire to scrapbook in a while so I think I need to find a new challenge.  My sewing skills are  pretty elementary but I’ve got determination so, even though I bought a rotary cutter today and feel a little overwhelmed trying it out, I’m going to stick to this.  I used to sew for the girls when they were little and I miss that so I think this will be good.  We have a quilting store here in town so I’m going to call them tomorrow and ask about classes.  I’ve looked online and there are lots of good resources but I think I might need a little more one on one instruction 🙂  Wish me luck.

I’ve enjoyed my 3 day week-end but I’ve got to get myself in bed because the kiddos will be back bright and early tomorrow.

4 Comments »

  1. giveitatry said,

    wow, you had a busy weekend – shopping and all. I hate it when I get something and decide I don’t like it and can’t take it back. Swimsuits are tough.

    I love to quilt. I have a TON of unfinished projects that I need to work on. When you decide what direction you are going with on the quilting let me know – it would be fun to follow your progress.

    Also, I didn’t have time to comment on your Rosie post, but I totally agree. I have been following her blog and usually really like her, but she has gone wacko.

  2. ambersmonkeys said,

    good luck quilting! I love it! I am in the process of making a cute quilt for Kylie out of her told Dora the Explorer clothes……she had a bunch……like A LOT! lol…so I used them to make a quilt….you’ll see the pics when I finish it…lol……good luck!

  3. lesbianone said,

    Hi
    Free lesbian pics & videos. Visit my site.
    her first lesbi
    G’night

  4. Ritglilmhuh said,

    qywslvtlpqgnfmsrwell, hi admin adn people nice forum indeed. how’s life? hope it’s introduce branch 😉


Leave a comment