February 24, 2009

Making Do

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , at 11:37 pm by sillydreamer

The stars did not align but the kids left early so I wanted to post at least one of the recipes that I talked about.

Pumpkin Bread

1 cup vegetable oil
3 cups sugar
1 large can pumpkin
4 eggs, beaten
3 cups flour
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking powder
1 1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 1/4 tsp. cinammon
1 tsp cloves
1 cup walnuts chopped

Mix all ingredients in order. Grease and flour loaf pan and bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour. Yields 3 loaves.
****************************************************
Now to explain my title, making do. I am really in the mindset these days to just make do with what I have. I don’t think I’ve been a particularly wasteful person but when you stop and think of all the little trips you made to the store to get that one little thing, it really adds up. Now that I’m focusing on that, I am trying to do better. My neighbor made this bread for us when we moved into our old house 9 years ago so I got this recipe from her. I can’t tell you how good this bread is! When I got ready to finally make this the other day I discovered I didn’t have cloves or walnuts. I was actually at the store and was going to get them but once I saw the price of cloves, something I doubt I’m ever going to use again, I decided to go another route. I left that out and added in some nutmeg. I have an almost full box of raisins so instead of walnuts, I put those in. It was still as delicious as I remember it and felt proud of the fact that I just used what I had on hand 🙂 I am now calling it the “Make Do Pumpkin Bread”. My family loved it and as a matter of fact, it’s all gone and I just baked this on Sunday night.

1 Comment »

  1. […] on March 5, 2009 by lewlew Marla, over at My Semi Charmed Kind of Life, posted a recipe for pumpkin bread. While the recipe looks delicious, I make mention of it here because of the content of her post. […]


Leave a Reply

