January 2, 2009

2008 Recap

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , at 7:41 pm by sillydreamer

2008 was quite a year for us indeed and turned out much differently than I ever thought it would. That’s not a bad thing, just lots of unexpected things happened but what’s that saying, “life is what happens when you are busy making plans.” LOL!

If you had told me a year ago I would be selling my house and moving, I would have laughed in your face. Moving was not even a thought in my head but out of the blue, it happened. There was lots of bumps and lumps along the way but we are here and life is good. I loved my other house a lot, but it was time to go and after lots of thought and prayers on what to do, we plowed ahead and are settled in nicely. I know this was the right thing for us.

We certainly didn’t expect hubby to be laid off a week after we closed on this house but life happens. We still don’t know what’s going to happen but for now we are being told he will return to his job so that’s what we are hoping for. This has been our biggest upset and challenge but we’re managing ok. I have to admit that our spirits get low and we do worry about what will happen but there is zero that we can do about it so we try and roll with the punches. We are healthy and have a roof over our heads so there’s not much more to ask for. In the end, it’s all going to work out exactly as it was supposed to.

I didn’t expect to lose my little J and K from my daycare this year either but it happened. They get to stay home with their Mommy so that is a wonderful thing for them and I am truly happy that it worked out for them. I miss them lots though. I’ve added little baby A, who is H’s brother so I have one more spot to fill. Now that things have calmed down after the move, I need to run an ad. I’m very nervous about that because I’ve never, ever had to do that before. I have always filled all my spots from word of mouth and ended up with great families. Wish me luck in that area please 🙂

Life just rolls on with three teen agers in the house. Haley will turn 18 in less than a week!!! I can’t believe that at all. She got her license this past year and we bought her a car so she’s on the go as much as she can be. I’m ready to see her get a job and start paying for some of the upkeep but that would be a post for a different day. In a few short months she will graduate from high school and has made plans to attend a community college in the fall. It’s time for her to sprout her little wings and fly! Of course I have mixed feelings about it but what Mother doesn’t?

Heather and Holly are just Heather and Holly! They will turn 17 in a little more than a week and that too is unbelievable! I’m also looking forward to seeing a little more personal responsibility from them. It blows my mind that these girls have never had jobs. By the time I was their age I was working two part time jobs and going to school but again, a post for another day. We did learn our lesson from Haley and there will be no driver’s license or a car until they get a job and put up a little of their own money lol. I always felt that because I did have so much responsibility at an early age that I wanted my kids to just enjoy their teen age years but now I’m afraid that I’ve let them down by not making them a little more responsible. Wouldn’t it be nice to just know all the answers when it comes to parenting?

So that was my 2008. There were highs and lows for us, just like everyone else, but it all turned out ok. I hope 2009 brings much happiness and blessings to your families and mine too.

1 Comment »

  1. Author said,

    I’m so glad it all turned out right in the end. I’m sure you are doing a great job with the girls – it’s never easy bringing up children – they don’t come with a manual. LOL!

    Here’s hoping you have a wonderful 2009.


Leave a Reply

