December 26, 2008

On with the show

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , at 4:26 pm by sillydreamer

I hope everyone had a great Christmas. We did things a little differently this year. We took the girls shopping so they picked out their own clothes and then I bought just a couple of small gifts for them to open Christmas morning. I had very mixed feelings about doing it this way but in the end, everyone was happy and I don’t have to worry about exchanging for different colors or sizes. Christmas morning was a little bit of a let down as it took about a minute to open their gifts and look in their stockings. I guess I just have to face the fact that they are getting older….

Yesterday we had a house full and it was great. Including my family, there was 7 adults, 3 teen agers and 7 kids. It was loud, chaotic and happy! My nephew has twin boys who are 17 months old and they are just the cutest things so that was lots of fun. We laughed, ate and hung out for a few hours and since it was a nice day, the kids ran between my house and the park area across the street. All in all, I think everyone had a good time.

After everyone left, I took all my Christmas decorations off the tree and down from around the house. That’s my tradition so of course I had to stick to it. I didn’t take the tree down until this morning so it’s sitting here behind me, waiting to be taken up to the attic. Now it’s time to start putting my pictures and things on the walls so this house will look like home. When we moved in almost two weeks ago I didn’t bother doing that because I knew I would be putting my Christmas stuff out so now it’s time to get on with the show. Danny is going to start building the shelving in my closet so everything is coming together nicely.

3 Comments »

  1. Beckie said,

    I’m sure we were separated at birth! I would LOVE, LOVE, LOVE to take my Christmas stuff down that early, but I never do. I used to before I had kids and I’m sure I will again when the kids are out of the house.

    You make me smile.

  2. sillydreamer said,

    I’ve done it this way so long, my kids don’t know any different. Our very first Christmas we had a real tree and by Christmas Day, it was a sad looking sight so down it went. Even though we use an artificial tree now, the tradition has carried on since then and I wouldn’t have it any other way 🙂 I have a house full of people from noon until about 4 and as soon as they leave, the “de-decorating begins lol.

  3. Author said,

    I did my de-decorating today – usually I do it New Year’s Day but this year my young kitten, Alfie, kept trying to dismantle the Christmas tree. It was only today that he managed (for the very first time) to climb on the table where I’d placed the tree out of reach. I guess he must have grown over Christmas! So down it came before he did it for me! To be honest it was a relief – and then I did some “Spring cleaning” (polishing & vacuuming and tidying).

    It sounds like you had a great time with the visitors – and yes, the girls are growing up – and it’s so hard to accept (I’ve been there with my two boys). But adapting to suit their age is the way to go – after all they can’t stay young children for ever.

    Wishing you all the very happiest and healthiest New Year in your new home.


Leave a Reply

