November 13, 2008

A little personal info and a favor

Posted in Uncategorized at 4:52 pm by sillydreamer

If you’ve been following along you know that we’ve bought a house and currently have ours on the market.  We closed on the new (new to us but 2 years old) house and made plans to move the week of Thanksgiving.  If you’re a regular reader you know how stressed I’ve been about this.

Hubby took a week off so that he could paint over there and have the carpets cleaned before we start moving.  The first day he goes back to work, he gets the news that his company will be shutting down for 6 weeks.  As you can imagine, we are totally bummed and very worried that instead of shutting down for just 6 weeks, they might just keep it that way permanently.  Of course no one in management has said that but you’ve got to think along those lines.

So let’s see where that leaves us.  We have two mortgages and a very diminished income.  My heart pounds every time I say that.  The best case scenario will be that they don’t even shut down for 6 weeks.  That’s  not totally written in stone yet but I think if they went to the trouble of calling an emergency meeting, then it’s probably going to happen.  The  not so best case scenario would be that they shut down for just 6 weeks, we draw a paltry unemployment check, make a few cutbacks and juggle two mortgages.  The worst case scenario is no job to go back to at all and we lose the other house.  The beautiful house that I have cried a bucket of tears already thinking I won’t get to move into.

Now the one thing that could really save us would be to sell this house and that’s my favor to ask of you guys.  I guess not to specifically ask for this house to sell, but to ask for prayers or what other method some use to ask for things, that we’ll be ok and make it through this time.  I want whatever the best thing for my family is to happen and if that means we stay here, then I ask for acceptance of that and wisdom to know what choices we should be making. 

I know things could be so much worse.  We could lose a job without any notice or we could lose the only house we own so I’m not playing up the “poor pitiful me” routine.  I  know many people have been through this exact thing so I am not the first person this has happened to.  I am very appreciative of all that I have and if we do lose the other house then so be it.  We will survive-it’s just a house.  I just need some prayers for guidance on how best to handle our situation.

If you made it all the way through this sage then I thank you 🙂

12 Comments »

  1. Beckie said,

    Oh gracious – that is NOT good news.

    I will certainly send good vibes and prayers your way. It will be ok – try not to worry.

  2. sillydreamer said,

    Thanks Beckie 🙂

  3. That is so sad! I’m so sorry about the bad news. I hope that in the end everything works out for you and your family, but most importantly that hubby will have a job to go back to after the shut down (if it comes to that).
    The house… well, there’s always another house, but good jobs are so hard to come by these days.
    I’ll be thinking of you {hugs}

  4. Thanks for reading my story; “Not Just The Levees Broke” My Story During and After Hurricane Katrina.” Foreword By: Spike Lee. I really tried hard writing an already hard story, to share with others first hand what it was like living through Katrina. Thanks again. I also have a myspace: http://www.myspace.com/phyllismleblanc

  5. sillydreamer said,

    Thanks Daily 🙂 The house is just a house and the one I’m in right now is fine. We love it here and were just thinking ahead of few years, you know what I mean? We’re just going to say lots of prayers and what happens, happens and we’ll deal with it.

    Phyllis thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I will check out your Myspace.

  6. Author said,

    This is such a common story at the moment with a world-wide recession going on – but it doesn’t make it any easier for you. It must be such a worry but I am sure you will make the right decisions for yourselves.

    We were told only recently that my husband may be made redundant in the New Year – and we too are worrying. What if no job comes along? Will we have to sell our home? Like you – we can juggle things for a while – we have some savings BUT if unemployment goes on for any length of time it may be a different story. It will be a frugal Christmas just in case.

    Blessings to you – I hope it all works out.

  7. sillydreamer said,

    Thanks Jan and I am hoping for the best for you guys too. Sometimes it just sucks being the grown up, doesn’t it?

  8. Susan said,

    It’s scary times for so many people. I was just noticing how many empty store fronts were in the town I was in this weekend. I hope it all gets better soon.

    I will keep you all in my thoughts…sell the house, keep the job, get a raise (I thought I’d just throw that extra one in there for ya!)

  9. Heidi said,

    I will send positive energy your way. It is awful what is happening with the economy and to not know if there will be a job to go back to is scary. Hang in there!

  10. terri said,

    Sis, I know this one thing: what we envision is what we receive. I am seeing you in your dream house regardless of what the rest of the crazy world decides to do.

    🙂 so there!

  11. mrsgee said,

    i hope you don’t mind my commenting, as i don’t know you. i surfed over here from a friend’s blog. i have read several of your posts and can tell that you are a genuinely nice and caring person. i believe that the things we do come back to us three-fold. so, positive thoughts your way. keep your spirits up. with so many positive influences on you, things can’t help but turn out good. with your permission, i would like to post your blog on my blogroll – maybe even more people will read your story and help you however they can.

  12. sillydreamer said,

    Hi Heidi, thanks for the comment. Everything will be fine, I’m sure of it.

    Terri-thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I believe the same as you so we’ll get there. And even if we didn’t my life is wonderful the way it is. Are you still blogging over at Blogspot? If so, please send me the link so I can catch up with your crazy self!

    Hello Mrs. Gee-thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment and saying such nice things about me. I do try to treat people the way I want to be treated and I try to stay positive and focus on all the good things in my life. I believe that everything will be fine and as long as I’ve done my best then the outcome is as it should be for me 🙂


Leave a Reply

