November 3, 2008

People, Please!

Posted in life, thoughts tagged , , , at 3:08 pm by sillydreamer

I’m all about a deal and saving money when I can.  It makes me feel good for my pocket book and also the environment if I am reusing something.  We are going to need a black refrigerator for the new house since all the other appliances are black.  I know “need” is not really the right word because it’s not a need, it’s a want.  There is nothing wrong with my white refrigerator except it’s white.  Please don’t bother leaving me a comment about appliance paint because I’ve already gone through that conversation with the husband and a salesman and I’m not going that route lol. 

Anyway, back to my thought here.  Yes, it’s a purely a cosmetic thing but I want all my appliances to match and I’m all about a deal so I turn to my favorite place on the net, Craigslist.  I’m sure everyone in the world knows about it but if you don’t, you can check it out at www.craigslist.org.  I’ve bought and sold many items on there and I love it.

I’ve had my refrigerator for 8 years now and it looks practically brand new.  There is not a scratch, dent, scrape or scuff anywhere, inside or out.  I just assumed that was the norm.  Apparently not.  I’ve gone and looked at two different refrigerators from Craigslist and let me tell you, I think these both had been tumbled down some stairs at the very least.  These were from two different people and both appliances were less than 3 years old.  I looked at the manufacturer’s date on both of them and that’s the truth but it boogles my mind that they were both in such poor shape.  Is that the norm?  Both of these were priced at $500 and above and I wouldn’t have given $50 for either of them.  I know I am a little picky, but come on!  People, please!  I’m sure they wouldn’t have paid $500 for them either in that shape. 

So it looks like I will probably end up buying a new one just to save myself the hassle.   At least this way I will get a warranty too but I will still love craigslist and will still buy and sell from there because it’s always the deal that keeps me coming back 🙂

Leave a Reply

