October 29, 2008

Darning Foot

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , at 6:43 pm by sillydreamer

I’ve decided to get a darning foot for my sewing machine and start machine quilting but here’s my problem.  Do I have to order one from the Singer website or is there any place, like Joanns, that sells them?  I bought my machine from Wal-Mart…..Singer Simplicity….so are the feet pretty much standard?  I know there is a difference between low shank and high shank but other than that, are there any differences?  I’m all about instant gratification and would love to be able to purchase from a store rather than order online and wait.  Let me know if you have any insight for me please.

5 Comments »

  1. Susan said,

    Did you know that it’s actually JoAnn, not JoAnn’S? My husband tells me this all the time…I’ve actually got a story about that and I guess this isn’t the place to write it! LOL (still on my first cup of coffee here…work with me!)

    Anyways, Singer is pretty standard and I’m guessing the fabric store will carry them. Look at how it attaches or better yet bring a foot in with you. That said, I know nothing about quiliting…. 😀

  2. Susan said,

    I know, call Joann’s and ask them if they have it and in stock…unless of course, you just need an excuse to go there…

  3. sillydreamer said,

    LOL…..I know but JoAnn sounds stupid when I say it without the ‘s’. Just like J C Penney. It’s Penneys! But Wal-Mart is Wal-Mart and it bugs me to no end when people say Wal-Marts. I am easily annoyed 🙂

    Great idea…..I love to go to JoAnns anyway 🙂 LOL! I’ll call and ask but then go anyway because that’s the way I work!

  4. Beckie said,

    I have no ideas!

    I do know that I have trouble with my darning foot when I try to stipple. I guess I need to practice more. When you get the foot you’ll have to let us know how it works for you.

  5. sillydreamer said,

    Really Beckie? Check out http://www.handmadebyalissa.wordpress.com She does all her quilting with her darning foot and it looks amazing! I really enjoy the hand quilting but there are times when I want the process to be speeded up so I want to give it a try. Alissa makes it looks so easy lol!


Leave a Reply

