October 2, 2008

My Apologies

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , at 1:48 pm by sillydreamer

I’ve been terrible at updating my own blog and even worse at commenting on the ones I do read.  For shame!  For those of you that check your stats, if you see that I’ve read yours and didn’t comment, it’s usually because as I’m reading, I get called away from the computer for one of a thousand reasons but I’m trying to do better.

Ok, so I did finish the book “Stolen Innocence” that I mentioned in an earlier post.  In my head I had all those things I was going to say about it but those words don’t come out as nicely put together when I go to type them.  I swear I have developed ADD in my old age  because I can’t seem to stay on task. 

Religion fascinates me and it’s something that I struggle with myself.  From 6th grade until 12th I attended a Baptist church every time the doors were open so I know all about what Baptists believe.  According to them, you only go to heaven if you are “saved”.  According to some other religions you will only go to heaven if you are a member of their faith.  See the confusion there?

In this book, Ms. Walls was taught as a member of the Fundamentalist Mormons (FLDS) a man can only achieve the highest level of heaven if he has at least three wives and women can’t get to heaven at all unless they are married and need to be one of at least three wives to also reach the highest level with her husband and sister wives.  Anything the Prophet says is the same as if God is saying it and by disobeying the Prophet, you are disobeying God.  Talk about complete control over people!  I’m so happy this young woman had the courage to go out on her own and tell the world about what is really going on. 

As a society I think we are so afraid to discuss religious beliefs because we don’t want to offend anyone and I certainly am not trying to offend any religion here but wrong is wrong, and marrying off a 14 year old girl in the name of God is wrong.  As I said myself, I struggle with exactly what I do believe but I do know that God (or whatever higher power out there) does not want that for any child.  

And in the infamous words of Mr Gump, “that’s all I have to say about that.”  LOL!

3 Comments »

  1. Rhonda said,

    I am a horrible commenter too… It’s just too hard sometimes!!

    But I always love your comments!

  2. underthebigbluesky said,

    Join the club on the comments, but thanks for your recent one!

    Don’t get me started on the religion thing and thanks I’ll have to read that one.

    To me there are many roads to heaven, and we have to choose one to work our way there.

  3. Author said,

    It is hard to comment every time – I think you should only comment when you feel you want to – or have something to say.


Leave a Reply

