September 24, 2008

The Big 4-O

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , at 2:25 am by sillydreamer

Today was my birthday.  Also my hubby’s birthday but he’s only 39 so this was “the big one” for me.  LOL!  Why does everyone get so freaked about 40?  It’s just a number, much like age is only a state of mind and in my mind I still feel young.  I would hate to be in my 20’s again.  I feel like I didn’t blossom until my mid 30’s.  Does that sound silly?   Does this mean now that I am officially 40 that I have to grow up? 

 I read an article the other day that said studies have shown the older you are, the happier you are in general with your life.  I totally agree with that.  It stated that older people found joy in the simpler things in life.  Now I know they were referring to people in the late 60’s but I can relate that to my life.  I get so excited to see a rose bloom on my rose bush or have a dove build a nest and hatch her eggs on my patio.  My husband will call me to the window to see a beautiful red bird playing in our yard and that makes me smile like a loon lol. 

I love my life!  I am happy with what I’ve learned in 40 years and I look forward to 40 more.

7 Comments »

  1. clevergrl said,

    Happy birthday!

  2. Nuts! I’m going to be 38 next month, which means in 6 months I’ll be 40… that is, according to my formula: You always round up after 6 months and 39 is basically 40. Hence, even though I’m technically still 37, I already feel 40. How do you not worry???
    Anyway, happy birthday!

  3. Happy Birthday!!
    I turned 40 in February and have to agree: 40 really isn’t that bad.
    Hope you enjoyed your day!

  4. Tall T said,

    Happy Birthday!!!!

    It is great to see someone so positive about getting older. I am in my mid 30’s now and I am so much more aware and finally feel comfortable in my own skin.

    I can’t wait for 40.

    40 is fabulous!!!

  5. sillydreamer said,

    Thanks for the birthday wishes. 40 is fabulous….life is fabulous…I am fabulous LOL!

    Modern, thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I skimmed through some of your blog entries and we have something in common….our croc loathing!!!!

    Tina, I love your new avatar picture. YOU are looking FABULOUS!!! Keep up the good work girl!!!!!!

  6. A happy late birthday….you are right life just gets better…although it may not be the reality of life around you it is for what is going on inside. Discounting health and aging related issues and some times in spite of them!!

  7. Author said,

    I am so sorry I missed your birthday – BELATED HAPPY 40th BIRTHDAY!
    Hope you had a great time. Life begins at 40!


Leave a Reply

