August 31, 2008

Love is patient, love is kind

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , at 6:19 pm by sillydreamer

I don’t claim to be a perfect parent by any means.  I know we all have those less than stellar parenting moments that you hope no one witnesses but I want to share with you the most pitiful experience I witnessed on Friday night.

At the football game Friday night, a family/group of people sat down a few rows ahead of us.  There was a Dad, Mom, two female friends and two small little boys, 4ish and 6ish.  In case you didn’t already know, football games are boring to kids (and some adults, ahem).  They don’t get what’s going on and it’s two and half hours of trying to entertain yourself.  These parents/adults wanted their kids to sit still and look straight ahead.  Yeah, right.  They never talked to these boys except to make mean faces and repeatedly say, “no, stop, don’t, or I’m about to get you” and usually a smack on the leg went along with that.  They didn’t try to engage these kids, entertain them, play with them, nothing.  The younger boy had a small stuffed animal that he was playing with and was tossing it down a couple of rows, walking down to get it, then tossing it back up to the original spot.  He wasn’t bother anyone, wasn’t getting in anyone’s way or anything.  Mean face Daddy takes notice, got up, snatched the toy up, never saying a word to the boy but making a very stern face at him and then keeps the stuffed animal.  You should have seen the little boy’s face fall.  It was so sad. 

The whole scenario just made me sad for those boys.  I’m not kidding when I say that those adults never once spoke to those kids except to get on to them.  They certainly never smiled at them or were kind to them in anyway.  They gave no indication in the two and half hours that I was behind them that those kids were anything to them but an annoyance.   As I said before, I know we all have moments that we hope no one witnesses but my goodness, I would hate for someone to watch me for two and half hours and wonder why I even had kids!  There was a small group of pre teen boys sitting behind this man and apparently they were being too loud and he makes a big show of turning all the way around and giving them a very menacing look.  At this point I really just wanted to push him all the way down to the bottom of the bleachers!  I know, not very neighborly of me, is it?  The sad thing is, in a few years (if not already) those boys will feel the same way about their Dad that I did.  What else is he teaching them?  It breaks my heart to think about it.

2 Comments »

  1. I also wonder what goes on at home when I see such appalling treatment of children…..you know usually people try to put on a better front in public. My husband and I shared staying at home duty when our son was little…..it enabled me to be able to be comfortable going anywhere by myself so it was a good thing in the end.

    I totally understand what you mean about wondering why some people have children…just because you can does not mean you should!!!

  2. Author said,

    “just because you can does not mean you should!!!” – I couldn’t agree more. It’s very sad.


Leave a Reply

