August 17, 2008

A work in progress

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , at 4:17 am by sillydreamer

I finished the quilt top for my neice’s baby.  Hubby cleaned out his closet and I used three pairs of khaki shorts, a plaid shirt and a pair of cords that I haven’t worn in a couple of years.  All to a good cause 🙂  I’ll go tomorrow and find the backing and binding to finish it up.  In case you are interested I cut strips 2 1/2 inches wide, 4 1/2 inches wide and 8 1/2 inches square.  I used one 4 1/2 strip, and two 2 1/2 inch strips to make a square.  I laid them out in a checkerboard design, alternating the three strip squares with a solid 8 1/2 inch square.  I cut a three inch wide strip from each of the three strip squares and joined those together to make a row on the top and a row on the bottom of the quilt.  The picture was taken with my Blackberry so the quality isn’t as good as if I had used my regular camera.  I have to say that I love using the Blackberry because I don’t have to resize, just copy and paste though 🙂  

Today Hubby offered to stop into a quilt store that I haven’t visited yet so of course I took him up on it.  Why wouldn’t I?  It was really nice and carried more of the style fabric I like…..bright colors and cute prints as opposed to the “traditional” quilting fabrics.  Even though I am currently working on a quilt and have another that I am also working on, I couldn’t resist picking up a couple of these charm packs.  I can’t wait to do something with them!  It is Flirtations by Moda and so stinking cute!  Hubby scored major points for taking me there AND also going into another quilt store that I hadn’t been into yet.  All this from a man who would probably prefer having his fingernails ripped out than having to go into Joann’s to look for fabric!  Very impressive 🙂

3 Comments »

  1. Author said,

    The baby quile is a lovely way of recycling stuff – and so pretty.

  2. sherylc said,

    Thanks for commenting on my blog! It allowed me to visit your blog and it’s wonderful. Thanks!

    Sheryl

  3. Anne said,

    I love charms! My bf is lovely about my quilting but he’s never yet suggested a quilt shope trip!
    By the way … re your comment at pinsandthimbles, try googling the Eric Carle Museum web shop. It’s where I got my hungry caterpillar fabric when every shop here in Australia had sold out. Oh, and thanks so much for visiting. The visit spike after sew, mama, sew did a feature was scary!


Leave a Reply

