August 6, 2008

Betty Crocker, I’m not

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , at 6:32 pm by sillydreamer

I will be the first to admit that I am not all that great when it comes to cooking.  I like to do it and more times than not, things come out as planned but there’s always that chance that things are going to flop big time.  I’ve been wanting some good old fashioned, homemade sugar cookies so I went to www.allrecipes.com (aka the best recipe website around) and found this recipe.  I just made these cookies this morning and they were wonderful, and apparently pretty foolproof, so I wanted to share it with you.

*******************************************************************************************************************

Sugar Cookies

2 3/4 cups all purpose flour                                   1 1/2 cups white sugar

1 tsp. baking soda                                                   1 egg

1/2 tsp baking powder                                             1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 cup butter, softened

 

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.  In a small bowl, stir together flour, baking soda, and baking powder.  Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until smooth.  Beat in egg and vanilla.   Gradually blend in the dry ingredients.  Roll rounded teaspoonfuls of dough into balls, and place onto ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven, or until golden.  Let stand on cookie sheet two minutes before removing to cool on wire racks.

******************************************************************************************************************

I made about a third of the cookies plain, just as the recipe stated.  To change things up, I took a small bowl with cinammon and sugar mixed together and I rolled the balls of dough in that and then baked.  I also had a small bowl of sprinkles that I rolled some of the balls in before baking and they all turned out great.  I really liked the cinammon ones but my kids were loving the ones with sprinkles.  Those looked the prettiest too 🙂  I can’t wait for my other daycare kidlets to come back from vacation because I’m going to get them to help me bake some more.  As I said, this was a very easy recipe so that makes it tops in my book.

5 Comments »

  1. These sound delicious, especially the cinnamon/sugar ones! Too bad my oven is taking the summer off… and even worse, summer lasts way too long here.

  2. Author said,

    Mmmmmmmmmmmmm. If I lived near – I’d drop in for coffee and cookies!

  3. sillydreamer said,

    That’s ok, my oven takes lots of time off too LOL.

    Jan, in honor of you, I had coffee and cookies for breakfast this morning 🙂

  4. ninamazing said,

    agreed, allrecipes.com is pretty fantastic.
    and thanks for the stevie nicks heads up [made my day]!! 😉

  5. sillydreamer said,

    Thanks for the comment Nina 🙂 Stevie is the Queen and always will be!


Leave a Reply

