July 23, 2008

She’s Done

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , at 7:51 pm by sillydreamer

I finally finished up the lap quilt that I’ve been working on for awhile now.  Originally I picked up one charm pack of Moda Simplicity squares that were calling my name.  I had no idea what I was going to do with them but I had to have them.  I decided to just keep it simple so I went back and bought some more fabric from the same line to add to what I had.   I’m not a very experienced quilter and normally use low loft batting but for this one I used high loft and I have to say I prefer that and will probably use it from now on.  I hand quilted it and then when it came time to do the binding, I sewed it to the back of the quilt and then used a decorative stitch to sew it down to the front.  I love the way it turned out and the fact that it took much less time to do it.   I’ve decided this will be my quilt 🙂

11 Comments »

  1. Goosie Girl said,

    She’s very pretty. I think I take her as mine too. I have this question that I’ve asked a few blog-people about and no one seems to be getting back to me. So… I’ll ask you too.. I’m a beginner with quilting but I have an idea for a lap quilt and want to try it… I have only the pattern in my head but it looks a lot like this one.. How do you know how much of each fabric to buy? You said you bought one charm pack.. was that close to enough?

  2. Very pretty! I love the colors and patterns.

  3. Judy said,

    very sweet!

  4. lisakingsley said,

    Way cute.

  5. Tall T said,

    I love the way you stitched that. She is gorgeous. I am glad your keeping her!

  6. Beckie said,

    Very, very nice! I like that stitch.

  7. Author said,

    That is real pretty! I love the colours. You’re very talented.

  8. Susan said,

    I can’t even begin to tell you how impressed I am!

  9. Lovely and glad you are keeping it for yourself.

  10. sillydreamer said,

    Thank you all for the comments 🙂

  11. sillydreamer said,

    Goosie girl, I have tried emailing you twice and it bounces back every time. Please send me a new address.


Leave a Reply

