July 7, 2008

Playland Etiquette

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , at 5:37 pm by sillydreamer

It’s been so flipping hot here that we haven’t really played outside much, which is not a good thing.  Last Thursday, Hubby and I loaded up my three daycare kidlets and off we went to Chick-fil-A for a little snack and some fun in their play area.  When my kids were little we spent many hours playing in these type places but I had forgotten a few things.

Some people think turning their little ones out to the play area means they are totally fine by themselves.  Why they think this I do not know because it’s mass chaos out there and there is always one or two of “those” kids who really, really need some supervision.  I am not about to say that I was the perfect, supervising Mother with my own kids but I was at least on hand, within earshot or line of vision to see what was going on.   We had two out there calling the other kids names, blocking the entrance to the slide and, my favorite, climbing on the outside of the structure.  Both Moms are chatting away inside the restaurant without a care in the world.  That just drives me crazy.  Hubby and I both had to make a few comments to them and as they were leaving, we heard one of them “telling” on us lol.  We were very nice and respectful and know that it really wasn’t our place to do but for goodness sakes if we didn’t, who would?  After spending a few minutes with these boys I think I can understand why their Mother’s turned them loose out there.  They probably needed a break!

2 Comments »

  1. Ooohhh, that drives me CRAZY when parents let their kids run wild like that. Totally undisciplines and unsupervised at that! My kids wouldn’t dare behave like that!

  2. Author said,

    It’s always difficult to criticize another parent about their child – even when your intentions are good and you’re sensitive about it. Someone will usually take offence – and it’s usually the one criticized.

    I can’t tell you how often I’ve had to bite my lip while some indifferent parent lets their unruly child run wild, spoiling it for the other children. I’ve occasionally spoken up too – and got a load of verbal for my efforts. Now I tend to ignore it unless someone is at risk of getting hurt.


Leave a Reply

