June 3, 2008

Two books and two flicks

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , at 1:24 pm by sillydreamer

I’ve been trying to find time to sit down and write this and it looks like today is my lucky day…for now anyway.  I’m sure you know by now that my reading tastes usually tend to be more biographical than anything.  I think everyone has a story and it’s fascinating to me to find out what it is so the last two books (as well as the one I am reading now) fall into that category.

The first book is “Beautiful Boy” by David Sheff.  This book is about a father’s journey through his son’s addiction and gives great insight into what parents and other family members deal with when a loved one is addicted. 

The second book is “Leaving Dirty Jersey” by James Salant.  This book is about a year that a young man spent in California addicted to crystal meth. 

Of the two books, I identified of course with the father, not because I have a child addicted to drugs, but just the pain and heartbreak only a parent can experience when it comes to your child.  The second book gave great insight into what addiction makes you do….the lows you will stoop to to continue using.  As a parent I think I need to know every angle, every sign of what to look for just in case.   Knowledge is power.  Both young men in these books came from upper middle class, educated families, driving home the fact that addiction can happen to anyone, from all walks of life. 

Over the week-end myself, Danny and the twins went to see the new scary movie, “The Strangers”.  It was ok, I really thought it would be scarier than it was and wondered why it got an R rating.  I’ve truly seen worse on prime time television.  It flashes up on the screen at the beginning of the movie that this inspired by true events so of course, I Google it when I get home.   When the writer was a child, an empty house in his neighborhood was broken into and from THAT, he came up with this story?  Talk about a stretch of the imagination!  That was all I could find, if there is more to it then I apologize lol.

Hubby and I have been on a good roll renting movies.  We have rented some real stinkers over the years but in the last couple of months the renting gods have smiled on us.  Last night we rented “The Cleaner” with Samuel L. Jackson and it was good, definitely worth watching. 

That’s my reviews, such as they are.  Now I’m in full on, getting ready for vacation mode. 

5 Comments »

  1. clevergrl said,

    I have heard really good things about “Beautiful Boy” and almost bought it the other day…

  2. Author said,

    The books sound interesting. I like books I can learn from – or explore things I would never otherwise experience.

    Did you ever read “A million little pieces” by James Frey?

    It is a heartbreaking memoir written by James himself. At age 23 he destroyed his body and his mind almost beyond repair by taking drugs. He fought his way back to the best health possible after such mass destruction – and wrote his memoir without self-pity or cynicism and with a fearless candour. The book explores friendship, love, religion, death, loss and of course the human spirit itself.

    It’s a book that made me weep – and yet also marvel at the strength of the human spirit.

    The last four words of the book are: “James has never relapsed.”

  3. sillydreamer said,

    I did not read “A Million Little Pieces” but I did read the follow up “My Friend Leonard”. There was a huge backlash here in the States because it came out that many of the accounts in James’ book were simply not true or embellished beyond belief. Oprah was pissed because she had chosen this as one of her book club books and even had him back on the show to confront him about it. I didn’t see either episode and I felt very sorry for him and worried that something of this magnitude could make him relapse. I do plan on reading the book someday and I hope that he is doing ok after the whole ordeal.

  4. Author said,

    Marla,

    I had no idea about all that backlash – amazing. Was this proved to be true in the end – or was it half a dozen of one and six of the other?

    And I’ve never heard of the follow up book – I might see if I can get it. Was it worth reading?

  5. sillydreamer said,

    The follow up was ok but since I didn’t read the first one I have nothing to compare it to.

    The backlash was huge…..the publisher actually offered refunds because of it. You do NOT mess with Oprah and if she’s mad, people are going to act. Some website started doing a little fact checking and were able to prove that there were times when James was in jail and couldn’t have done some of the things he claimed to have done. Also, if you wake up to find yourself on a plane, how in the world did you get there? Don’t you think someone would have prevented him from boarding the plane? He says he tried to remember things to the best of his ability, and given the amount of drugs he was doing, that probably was the best he could do. Leave it to someone to try and prove you wrong, huh?


Leave a Reply

