May 8, 2008

It’s true, I suck

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , at 5:29 pm by sillydreamer

I suck at blogging lately.  I just can’t seem to come up with anything to blog about so hence my absence.  The girls are busy wrapping up the end of the school year and that’s about all that’s going on here.  The weather is beautiful so I’m out with the kidlets more frequently so there’s lots of time taken up with putting on and taking off socks and shoes, etc.  Little Miss is totally potty trained now so that’s big news!  She was so easy!  Little Mister is not quite ready yet but we are working towards that slowly. 

Want to hear something weird?  I have discovered that some of my pictures are missing from Windows Vista.  Poof, they are just gone.  I am the only one that messes around with the Photo Gallery so I know someone didn’t accidentally delete them.  Thank goodness I have uploaded all of them to Photobucket so I was able to go and retrieve the two folders that were missing but now I’m extra paranoid about it.  So very strange.

I finished my string quilt and now I am working on a crazy quilt to use up all these little bits of fabric I have left over.  On a whim I bought a Moda charm pack but now I’m stumped as to what to do with it.  There are 50 five inch squares and then I bought four fat quarters of coordingating fabric but need a pattern to use it on.  I hate it when I don’t have a plan! 

9 Comments »

  1. Rhonda said,

    Don’t worry, I suck too 🙂

  2. giveitatry said,

    I bought one of the Moda packs too. I have no idea what to do with it besides sit around and fondle it. I did get a drunkards path quilt together. I have been trying to decide if I want to post about it or skip it. I should send you a picture – I need help deciding on border colors.

  3. romach said,

    I never have anything that interesting to blog about. I guess the whole idea is like having a little dear dairy about your day or week etc. I post just about anything and everything. I like reading what you have to say.

  4. mystiquemuse said,

    Hi,

    Thanks for leaving a comment on my blog! Do you have any pics of your crazy quilt???

    Ooooh the charm pack coooould be made into a coordinated crazy quilt like the one I’m doing now…. You start with a five sided shape and then radiate outwards in a sew and flip manner….I’ll be posting pics of the block I’m working on now…. I’m really new to quilting and have just been tackling it by hand but I’ve always loved fabric and yarns and all….I can relate to wanting to buy some yummy fabric but not having a pattern…LOL!!

  5. Linda said,

    Hey, Marla,

    I was just rereading some old comments at mysteryoriley, and thought I should respond to yours (though not so old). Looking around your blog, we have some things in common. Quilting, for one. Kids, for another. Blogging, and not knowing what to say, a third.

    Thanks for your comment at mysteryoriley a few days ago. I’m always interested in people who visit. Take care of yourself and your family.

    Linda

  6. Author said,

    Hi Marla,

    Well I for one like visiting your blog – so just keep on, keeping on!

    I’d love to see some pics of your quilt making too. Excuse my ignorance – but what is a string quilt? It sounds fascinating.

  7. sillydreamer said,

    Thanks for all the comments. It’s nice to know someone is thinking about me LOL.

    Jan-a string quilt is basically strips of fabric sewed to a piece of muslin. I can’t find a link but you can google it to get a better idea. I’ll post pictures of mine tomorrow. I would do it now buy my daughter is sleeping under it.

    Linda-thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I have to say you have been on my mind the last couple of days. I look forward to getting to know you better.

    Mystiquemuse-Thanks for the comment. I’ll snap a picture tomorrow of some of the crazy quilt squares and post them. I’m having fun but it seems to be more time consuming than a regular quilt, and I’m doing mine on the machine! God bless your patience.

    Romach-Thanks for the comment. Visiting everyone else’s blogs has given me some new inspiration so maybe I’ll be a little more faithful about updating.

    Beckie-Those darn little squares of fabric just scream “buy me” don’t they? They need to enclose a pattern for a couple of squares with those charm packs I think. At least I wouldn’t be sitting around, twiddling my thumbs wondering what I can do with 50 five inch squares of very cute material.

    Rhonda-You don’t suck! You update almost every single day and I enjoying reading your blog.

  8. Fern said,

    I too have been tempted by the charm packs, they’re just so pretty! But so far I’ve been sensible and haven’t picked one up, as I know I would end up exactly like you, wondering what on earth to do with them 🙂

    Looking forward to pictures of your string quilt!

  9. mystiquemuse said,

    I’ve found the answer!!! LOL well….sort of… go to: http://www.unitednotions.com/measurements_charm-pack-cutting.pdf

    It’s on the Moda site… also check out their fabric selection at: http://mordac.unitednotions.com/storefrontB2CWEB/browse.do?action=refresh_browse&ctg_id=74960

    Have fun!!


Leave a Reply

