April 8, 2008

This is how it starts

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , at 5:20 pm by sillydreamer

First I want to say that I’m just about lost with the new WordPress look.  It has absolutely nothing to do with what I’m blogging about, I just wanted to share that with you.

Hubby and I have been kicking around the idea of putting a tile floor in my bathroom.  We even had it picked out, all we will have to do is find out how much we need and purchase it.  We wanted to wait until we knew for sure there wouldn’t be a strike at his job and thankfully there wasn’t so here is how our conversation went on Sunday morning about 10:00am.

Me:  I want to put a call in to our tile guy this week and see how much he’s going to charge us to lay the floor in there.

Hub:  Yeah, we can do that but you know I’m not happy with the texture on the walls in there, so if we’re going to do a new floor, we may as well redo the texture.

Me:  Well, if we are going to redo the texture, we may as well go ahead and change the paint color.  I’m tired of the purple so I’m thinking grey or tan.

Hub:  If we change the wall color, we are going to have to change the trim color in there too.  It’s not going to match unless we do.

Me:  You’re right, Honey.  I was thinking the same thing.

Hub:  I’m not happy with the crown moulding either, so I’ll just take that down since we were going to repaint it anyway.

By 10:30am, he’s got the crown taken down and I’m working on getting the border off.  I’ve stripped lots of wallpaper in my day but this border was really hard to remove.  Even though it was prepasted, we used extra glue because it was in the bathroom.  I will never do that again!  LOL!  This really wasn’t what we had planned on doing this day but it all worked out.  He’s primed and painted the walls, cut new moulding installed it and got that painted too.  We (as in he) need to paint the rest of the trim, the cabinet and put in the floor.

Want to hear the kicker?  We’re not sure we are going to use the tile we’ve picked out so now we have to start over choosing a new one!  LOLOL!  All of this began because we had a specific one picked out and we were just going to do a new floor.  That is so us!

 

3 Comments »

  1. skywindows said,

    I hope you took “before” photos. I want to see the “after” ones too!
    Sounds like fun!

  2. Author said,

    I am so familiar with this story! LOL!

    When we moved a year and a half ago to Sidmouth, buying an 1830 house – we knew we’d have to DIY it! And our life is currently just like the saga you are in at the moment! LOL! 🙂

    The good bit is – it will look great when you’ve finished it! Keep us posted.

  3. sillydreamer said,

    I’ve got before pictures around here as we were the ones to add this bathroom on to the house about 4 years ago lol.

    This house was built in 1955 but we’ve updated just about everything in the last 8 years of living here. We’ve built on rooms, torn out walls, built walls, closed off doorways, and put in 2 different kitchen floors so far. Not to mention all the painting we’ve done. Each room has been painted at least twice, some of them three times. I love to change things and luckily my husband enjoys it too.


Leave a Reply

