February 28, 2008

You Just Can’t Make This Stuff Up

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , at 6:39 pm by sillydreamer

I don’t really share too much of my personal business on my blog for various reasons.  The main reason is my daughters are all teen agers and by sharing my personal business, I’m sharing theirs too and honestly, do you really want to read about a bunch of teen age drama?  I don’t, I live with it so my blog is more of an escape than an outlet LOL.  I don’t want to be “that” blog that you go to and it’s always negative, ranting entries.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that, because I do enjoy reading those from time to time, but I want to put more positive things out there than negative.

Today though, I will share a few things with you.  For those of you that don’t already know this, I grew up in a children’s home from the age of about 13 until 18.  To make a long blah, blah story short, after my parents divorced, the Home was the most suitable place for me at the time.  Up until then, I had been living with my Dad for the previous 4 years.  Now THAT was an experience! 

My Dad’s side of the family are an intersting bunch of people.  We’re Southern so some may refer to them as colorful but I just call them crazy.  They can’t get together without some kind of major brawl erupting.   For example, when I was a very young child, I was running through the house and accidentally knocked down my cousin.  He had recently had surgery so my aunt scolded me and spanked me.  I’m sure I had probably already been told not to run so the spanking was justified I’m sure.  Whatever the case, my parents went ballistic and a huge family brawl was on.  Fast forward about 6 years and all these family members, minus my Mom, were gathered together and this incident was brought up which sets off another family brawl, complete with guns!   Another time I saw a gun was when my father pulled one on a guy that had been using the “f” word in front of us.  Apparently it would be ok to shoot someone but not ok for us to hear the “f” word in his books.  Luckily, no one got shot.  The potty mouth young man wisely saw that this wasn’t the place for him and took off!  I wonder if he still thinks about this incident too.  I’m telling you, you just can’t make these things up.

I guess crazy didn’t fall too far from the tree because my dear sweet Grandma (who is still alive I think) decided at the age of 85 that every year on her birthday she would climb a tree.  Why, I do not know, but that’s what she decided to do.  Why anyone lets her also baffles me but up the tree she goes every year.  My sister (who still has contact with these people) told me on her 90th birthday the fire department had to come get her down because she got stuck! 

My maternal Grandfather called my Mom one day to tell her not to feed us the cereal that was sitting on the counter because it tasted awful.  He had come over to visit while we weren’t home and decided to eat some cereal while he was there.  My Mom looked around and told him there wasn’t any cereal on the counter, what was he talking about.  Apparently he had eaten a package of Tender Vittles catfood instead!   Why was this man driving if he couldn’t see the box well enough to notice the big cat on the front?? 

I could share many, many more of these type stories and they would all be true because as I said, you just can’t make this stuff up!  LOL! 

10 Comments »

  1. queenie5535 said,

    LOL. I love it. Love grandma deciding to climb a tree every year. LOL.
    Good writing. Thanks for the chuckles.

  2. skywindows said,

    I love the stories!!! Keep em coming…

    Grandma in the tree LOL’s!!!

    Grandpa eating cat food!!!! (my first thought was he was in the wrong house!!!)

  3. Kellie said,

    Ok, I’m sad you were the Home.

    But, I’m laughing at the rest of the stories. Especially Grandpa eating cat food. I, too, was thinking he wasi n the wrong house 🙂

  4. sillydreamer said,

    Queenie-thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment

    Tina-I’ve got countless stories, all as crazy as these

    Kellie-No worries, the Home was a blessing in disguise 🙂

  5. giveitatry said,

    Dr. Wayne Dyer said the “home” was a blessing to him too.

    Great stories – these are the things that best sellers are made from!

  6. Lady Luck said,

    Thanks for sharing such interesting snippits from your family life – I enjoyed reading them.

    It would be great to hear a bit more about what being in a children’s home was like – from someone like yourself with first hand experience.

  7. cass said,

    I love the eating cat food story -that is hilarious!

  8. Susan said,

    OMG I am just cracking up here! You’re right, these are stories you just can’t make up.

    My dh was put into a boys school at the age of 12. While it was horrible that circumstances were that he had to be put there, and being there wasn’t always a cakewalk, he says it was the best thing that ever happened to him. I hope it was a good thing for you too.

  9. sillydreamer said,

    Becki-I’ve toyed with the idea of writing a book, if for nothing else than for my girls. It’s not really a part of my life that I talk about much, as a matter of fact, until about 3 years ago, they just assumed my Mother was dead when in fact, she was living less than an hour away! We’ve reconnected so they know her now so it’s all good.

    Cass-can you even imagine eating catfood? LOL!

    Susan-Yes it was a good thing for me too. Life just has a way of working out sometimes, I guess 🙂

  10. Lucky Gem said,

    Southern? Where are ya. I’m in TN.


Leave a Reply

