February 3, 2008

Being schooled

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , at 4:48 pm by sillydreamer

Do I look different to you today?  I should because I’m blogging from my new computer.  Normally I would end that statement with an exclamation point put I have to tell you, I don’t feel all that excited at the moment.  It’s been at least 5 years since we’ve bought a new computer and now I have to relearn everything!!!!  I don’t want to be “that” person who resists change but I think that I am.  I do love the capabilities of the new system, I just have to take the time to learn it.  Therein lies the problem, time.  In addition to that, I have to transfer all my stuff from the old to the new.  You all know the drill, we’ve all done it before and of course it will all be okay.   If this is my biggest problem in life, I’ll be A-OK 🙂

Talking to the sales people when we were shopping was very humorous.  When we bought this computer, at least 5 years ago, it was pretty top of the line, all 512 MB of RAM and the whopping 80 gig hard drive of it!  LOL!  To be honest, the system is still ok for us; it was fast enough and even with all my pictures, music and programs on there, we still had plenty of room left on the hard drive.  We just thought it was time to step up just a little.  When we were telling them what our current system’s specs were, they laughed.  Every.single.one.of.them!  LOLOLOL!!!!!  Of course, when that computer was new, these guys were still in grade school!  They couldn’t imagine that you could use a system with 512mb of ram for anything!   I’m sure they couldn’t imagine that not too many moons ago, you actually paid by the minute for internet, your only option was dial up, and the thought of making your own CDs and DVDs was unheard of 🙂

3 Comments »

  1. Lady Luck said,

    The computer I use now was new just a year ago – and I too resisted change. I’d had my previous one for a while and it seemed very traumatic to have to transfer everything and get used to a new system! So I sypathise!:-)

  2. leafless said,

    I’m currently blogging on an old desktop computer with 256 RAM of memory. Although I do most of my work on my laptop, this computer is still going strong. I don’t really care about what those sales people say; this baby will survive for another 10 years.

  3. Marla said,

    Leafless, I have to say that I agree with you. The only difference in speed I notice is this one does boot up just a little bit faster. That’s always nice to discover after the fact isn’t it? NOT! I am enjoying my new monitor though 🙂


Leave a Reply

