January 30, 2008

The more things change….

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:21 pm by sillydreamer

I’ve lived in my little town now for about 25 years and I love it.   It’s really grown a lot in the last few years and is starting to lose that small town feel.  We now have many chain restaurants and departments stores as well as several new subdivisions springing up.  It wasn’t too many years ago that if someone told you what street they lived on, you knew exactly where it was and probably a few of their neighbors.  If you went shopping or out to eat, you would see someone you knew at every turn.  That’s not so much the case anymore.

I’m okay with all the changes.  It’s nice to have more places to choose from and it brings valuable tax dollars to us.  Sometimes when I’m out and about I’m amazed at how much we’ve grown and changed.  What is that saying though, “the more things change, the more they stay the same”?  Here is a direct quote from our newspaper today. 

“I credit the people of Ellis County for using common sense in not burning or apparently not throwing out cigarettes,” Hudgins said. “We have had a lot of moisture lately, but these winds will dry the ground out quick as a lamb’s tail.”

I’m pretty sure you won’t read the phrase “quick as a lamb’s tail” in most newspapers.  LOL!!!!!  That’s why I love my town 🙂

5 Comments »

  1. giveitatry said,

    That is FUNNY! Gotta love small towns.

  2. Lady Luck said,

    I love small towns too – I live in a very small coastal town (approx 20,000 people)

  3. leafless said,

    One can change what’s outside but not what’s inside. 🙂

  4. Marla said,

    I’ll always be a “small town girl”, no matter how much my little town grows 🙂

  5. d said,

    I’m a small town girl. Lived here all my life. I don’t imagine we’ll ever see a chain anything. (less than 3,000 people)

    In your next post you said I don’t want to be “that” person who resists change but I think that I am Oh how I can relate. “Don’t be that girl” *hides head in shame* I am that girl in many ways as well; although I also try to keep up with many things (or appear to) 😉

    Our town has grown a little…not much. The saddest thing is, I do not know the names of many I see on the street now. I DO find that sad.


Leave a Reply

