January 11, 2008

A Fish Tale

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , at 3:46 pm by sillydreamer

First of all, take a moment to peek over at the right side of the screen to the calender and note that I have blog something for 5 days straight now!  That is a record for me.  Not saying that I blogged anything noteworthy, but I did blog 🙂

Now on to my story…..

Almost 3 years ago I purchased a beautiful red betta fish, Reggie the Red Fin Fish, Reggie for short.  He’s in a vase in my kitchen window and he and I spend lots of time together.  I think he’s lived a very long life for a betta and I’ve enjoyed his company.  He doesn’t backtalk, make a mess or disagree with me in any way.  He swims to the side and watches me as I clean the kitchen and causes no drama in this house.  For this I am thankful. 

Now here’s my dilemma.

A few weeks before Thanksgiving I noticed he wasn’t swimming as much and gradually he’s spending more and more time on the bottom of the vase.  He will swim up to get his food but basically floats back down to the bottom.  I’ve taken most of the water out in the past couple of days so he doesn’t have to swim up as high to eat.  I know what’s coming, he’s dying.  I’m not in love with this fish but I hate to see him suffering.  My family thinks I need to flush him and put him out of his misery but I don’t think I can do that.  Not that I’m emotionally attached, I mean, he’s just a fish, but I don’t think I can just toss him out.  I don’t like seeing him the way he is so part of me wonders if I need to just do it.  He’s not going to get any better and I fully expect to go in the kitchen and see that he’s finally died any day now.  Then again, I’ve been thinking that for almost 2 months now. 

Now I know in the grand scheme of life, this isn’t a problem at all.  I’m just wondering what is the “right” thing to do.  What do you think?

7 Comments »

  1. Susan said,

    Think about it like this… Mabye fish years are like 50 to 1 human.. So Mr. Beta could be nearing a 100 years old.. He’s just old and getting slower. Would we put an old person out of their misery just because they move slower than they used to or stay in the house instead of going out somewhere everyday? No.. So just enjoy your kitchen time a bit longer and may your fishy be a reminder of life, love & living.

    Have a great weekend…

  2. Lady Luck said,

    Poor Reggie – but for each there is a season.

    If I were you I’d check out and eliminate all the potential causes for his distress first. For instance, is the water oxygenated enough? Does he have a simple fungal infection that a dose of something from the vet’s counter might put right? Fungal infections in fish are quite common.

    If you eliminate all the possibilities that a bit of TLC can put right and he is still “off colour” I would then wait and let nature take it’s course. I wouldn’t flush him into a sewer unless you are really, really sure he is dead.

    I speak with wisdom from hindsight! When my boys were little they had two goldfish called BIT & BOT and one day BIT became “off colour” – after several days of lolling listlessly around his tank, he keeled over and I THOUGHT he was dead. Honestly I did!

    My young son was heartbroken and we had a ceremony for BIT accompanied by many tears and a short prayer, before flushing him down the pan.

    We were all standing watching solemnly when he hit the cold water – which (to my shock and horror) revived him! I then spent over an hour on my knees with a tea strainer trying to get the newly energised and rejuvenated BIT out of the toilet. He swam this way and that way and was a right pest to re-capture!

    When he did eventually meet his maker (a whole year on) I buried him (to be on the safe side!)

  3. undercanopy said,

    Well, I think you should leave him where he is. The very fact that he is still swimming up to get his food tells us that he has not giving on life yet. You should let him deciding on his own fate. 🙂

  4. lewlew said,

    I also say to let Reggie live out his life. Lady Luck’s advice about looking at a fungal infection, etc. is spot on. Many of the medications are very inexpensive and located at your local pet store.

    Check out this blog post about an ailing fish:
    http://bwrmontag.blogspot.com/2007/09/fish-update.html

  5. sillydreamer said,

    Thank you for all the comments. Reggie will stay in the kitchen window until it’s time to go to the big fishbowl in the sky 🙂

  6. sillydreamer said,

    Oh and I wanted to add to Lady Luck that I too have done away with animals I thought had died. Who knew that when hermit crabs crawled up in the shell and their legs fell off that they weren’t really dead????

  7. Betta Fish

    Eight of the best sites about betta fish, also known as Siamese Fighting Fish. Know of another site that should be listed here? Leave your suggestion at the bottom of this page. (Related searches: Fish Tanks, Home Aquarium, Koi Fish)
    1. Betta Talk – Be…


Leave a Reply

