December 27, 2007

This bugs me

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , at 6:52 pm by sillydreamer

Forgive me if I’ve blogged about this before but I want to talk about Freecycle.  I’m sure everyone knows what it is, but I’ll explain just in case there is someone that isn’t familiar with it.  Basically it’s an internet group you can join that is based within your community and surrounding areas where you can post items that you want to get rid of or items that you are looking for, everything is free, hence the name.  It’s a wonderful way to keep things out of the landfills and get items that you need/want for free.  I’ve given and received from there.

Sometimes I am taken back by some of the requests for free items…..houses, cars, etc.  but I suppose if you are in desperate need of something, asking is free.  There are lots of requests for computers or laptops and most of those people asking will explain that they are going back to school or are planning to use the item for helping a non profit organization.  If they are telling the truth that’s wonderful but you know me, I’m usually a little skeptical.

Here’s what bugs me most.  When I give an item away, I don’t care who gets it or why.  I just need the item gone.  If I wanted to profit from it myself, I would use Ebay, Craigs List or have a garage sale myself.  Bottom line is, I don’t care who gets it, why they want it or what they do with it once they get it.  I see many posts from people offering an item and then giving a big spiel about who can request this item or they have to explain why they need it.  Basically I think it’s “whoever can beg the most, gets the prize.”  I know it shouldn’t matter to me but somehow it just bugs me…..gets under my skin in a big way.  

Other than that little rant, the day is great 🙂

5 Comments »

  1. SurfaceEarth said,

    I’m new to your blog having found it via tag surfer. Great design on your header up top. Appreciate the inside information about freecycle, I didn’t know a ton about the site, having received the address on a recommendation of a friend.

  2. sillydreamer said,

    Thanks for stopping and by and leaving a comment, Surface Earth. I can’t take credit for the design header, I found it somewhere but I’ll bet you did the design on yours, didn’t you? It looks great. I’m always jealous of people with artistic ability because I have none. Enjoy your gift 🙂

  3. SurfaceEarth said,

    Hey, just noticed the book you are currently reading. I read it within the last year…………..I won’t say more as you may not be done!

  4. sillydreamer said,

    Surface, I know I answered you yesterday but after reading more of the book last night I just had to blog a little about it today. This book is so eye opening!

  5. SurfaceEarth said,

    Yes, it is, isn’t it? I will go read your post!


Leave a Reply

