December 27, 2007

De-Christmased

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , at 1:19 am by sillydreamer

It’s all over.   The tree and all the decorations were taken down yesterday after everyone left and everything is back to normal and that makes me feel happy.

I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas.  Ours was very good.  On Christmas Eve, Danny and I had a very nice lunch at Olive Garden and then came home and let the kids have their Wii.  We wanted to get it set up on a day when the stores were still open just in case we needed to buy something extra.  Turned out there was nothing to setting it up, thank goodness.  I did have a little trouble getting it to go online but I sat down this afternoon and got that figured out.   Christmas Eve evening we all went and got a cappucino and went driving looking at Christmas lights and that was nice too.  Then it was back home for them to open up one gift.

Now if you’ve been following along, you’ll remember that instead of names this year I used numbers to identify the gifts and the numbers weren’t going to be revealed until Christmas Eve when we opened one.   The girls had it figured out anyway!  They each went and picked up the gift they thought belonged to them and the most coveted gift on their list!  Little stinks!  Oh well, it was fun anyway.

Christmas morning we opened the rest of the gifts and then around noon we had a houseful of guests.  We had a great few hours eating, talking and playing the Wii.  After everyone left I got busy taking everything down and getting it packed away.  That was the most relaxing part of the last few days lol. 

It was back to work today and I had lots of fun playing with my little friends and finding out about their holiday.  One of the families was telling me that they had purchased a Santa suit and set up their video camera and videoed “Santa” bringing the gifts to the house.  I think that’s a great idea!  The mom said that her parents had done that for her when she was little and how exciting it was to see him on tape.

Now that Christmas is over, we are on to birthdays now.  My three girls have birthdays the beginning of January and two of my daycare kidlets have one within the next week.  We are going to be partied out!  Also, my oldest daughter’s half brother has one this week-end so the fun just doesn’t stop.

I don’t know about you, but I could really get used to only working 3 days a week 🙂  Enjoy the rest of your week.

4 Comments »

  1. undercanopy said,

    Sounds like your Christmas experience was a great one. Our family will keep the tree and all the decorations until the New Year — we like to extend the Christmas spirit a little while longer.

  2. Lady Luck said,

    Sounds like you had a grat time!

    We took our decs down yesterday (and Spring cleaned the house as all the guests had gone!) – although we are still in holiday mood and not back to work until 2nd January!

  3. sillydreamer said,

    I hope the both of you had a nice holiday too. I am definitely in the minority here with taking my decorations down so early as most people generally keep them up until the new year. And a few more keep them until well past February which will inspire another post from me LOLOLOL!

  4. Guess where WE had dinner on Christmas Eve! Yep, Olive Garden!
    But then we went home and opened all the gifts 🙂 I grew up in Germany and Christmas is celebrated on Christmas Eve. A tradition my hubby let me keep.


Leave a Reply

