December 18, 2007

A Christmas “Gotcha”

Posted in Uncategorized at 1:08 am by sillydreamer

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

This incident would be the reason why I am using numbers this year instead of names. Let me explain.

A couple of years ago, Holly wanted a new skateboard for Christmas. We bought the one she wanted, wrapped it and put it under the tree. She would come home from school every day and pick that box up and tell me that she just knew it was her skateboard. I started out joking, telling her that she couldn’t be totally sure because things were not always what they seemed. She kept on for a few weeks…..”I know exactly what’s in that box, Mom” and of course she did but I decided to play a little joke on her. I took the skateboard out and replaced it with a metal vase and attached a card that said, “Gotcha! I told you things are not always what they seem.”

Our tradition is to open one gift on Christmas Eve and of course this is the one she wanted to open because she was soooooo sure that her skateboard was in there. Check out the look on her face……she was NOT amused! LOL!

5 Comments »

  1. Lady Luck said,

    Bet that annoyed her – judging by the expression on her face!

    Did she get the skate board in the end?

  2. clevergrl said,

    My mom did the numbers thing one year. It totally works. That must have been hilarious when she opened it and saw the vase!

  3. sillydreamer said,

    We carried the joke on for a few minutes and then gave the skateboard to her. She wasn’t amused but I tell you what, she hasn’t picked a gift up since and swore she knew what it was!

  4. giveitatry said,

    I thought I had commented on this post earlier, but I guess not.

    I think that the look on her face is priceless. Too funny!

  5. Jeannie said,

    that is friggin’ hilarious! She looks so pissed! LOL


Leave a Reply

