December 1, 2007

Things I’ve been meaning to blog about

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , at 4:18 am by sillydreamer

There’s been several topics this week that I’ve thought, “oh I should blog about that” but when I sit down to the computer, those thought fly completely out of my head.   Excuse the fact that I’m not going to dwell too much on any one thing but I wanted to get them out while I was thinking about it.

-The MySpace suicide

I’m sure everyone is familiar with the specifics but the question now is, should that Mother face any kind of charges because the little girl killed herself?  First of all, she is a sick, demented person to do that, especially to a child, and her children should be removed until she receives some intensive counseling.  Who does that???  She has some serious mental issues and should not be responsible for the emotional and psychological welfare of any child.  Secondly, while I don’t think she should be charged with murder, she should definitely be charged with something.  Of course, if it were my child that commited suicide, I would probably want to see her charged for the murder but realistically that would never stick.  Where in her mind did this seem like the right thing to do? 

-“The Wind Done Gone”

This is the book I mentioned a few weeks ago that is an “unauthorized parody” of “Gone With the Wind”.  OMG!!  I am not even halfway through this (and not sure I will finish) but let me tell you what I have learned so far.  The main character, Cindy, is the child of Mammy (Scarlett’s nanny), and Scarlett’s father.  The marriage between Scarlett’s parents was set up by the slaves, Mammy, and Scarlett’s Father’s valet (don’t remember his name but in this book he is “Garlic”).  They both knew this arrangement would make them as free as they could possibly be, as they would be the main caretakers of Tara (also called something else in this book) because Scarlett’s father was drunk most of the time.  When Lady gave birth to sons, Mammy killed them because they (Mammy and Garlic) didn’t want a sober man to end up running things years down the road.  Now, can you even imagine Mammy killing newborn babies????  I wish that I had read GWTW again before starting this book so I could be up to snuff with all the details of the original book but like I said, I don’t even know if I will finish this or not. 

I’m sure there were a few other things I was going to mention but I rambled on about these two so I’ll stop for now.  I have a fabulous week-end of absolutely nothing planned and I am looking forward to getting started on that.  Actually, I will be working on a quilt and trying out a couple of new dessert recipes but other than that, nothing.  I’m going to start off by sleeping late in the morning and go from there 🙂

4 Comments »

  1. fivemoreminutes said,

    I agree about that Myspace suicide, what kind of mother does that?

  2. ilovemyredhead said,

    there’s now way Mammy would kill a newborn baby! psshh..that’s nonsense! 🙂

  3. Idetrorce said,

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  4. alta said,

    I have quite a high credit rating and was careless enough to get several credit cards for which I was pre-approved by email. Now I realize they are too many and I was late with payments for 2 of them. Fortunately, I got a balance transfer credit card and moved the most part of my debt there, as I found the advice and the application form at

    discover balance transfer fees


Leave a Reply

