November 17, 2007

A Reading Meme

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , at 1:10 am by sillydreamer

I copied this from www.whitethoughts.wordpress.com  and I hope she doesn’t mind.  I try to surf the tags everyday to find more blogs to read and hers came up.

1. Do you remember learning to read? How old were you?

    Yes, 1st grade.  My kids learned to read in kindergarten but I was in 1st grade.

2. What do you find most challenging to read?

     I don’t care for sci-fi or romance novels so I don’t read them.

3. What are your library habits?

      I always check the new section first and then if I have a list of books I’ve been wanting, I will go and find those.  Other than that, I guess it just depends on my mood. 

4. Have your library habits changed since you were younger?

      No, not really.  I’ve always loved going to the library, it’s one of my most favorite places.  Our library is a very old building with really neat architectural features.  In the Lyceum that is upstairs, the chairs actually have a wooden box underneath that was used to place your hat.  How cool is that??? 

5. How has blogging changed your reading life?

     Let’s be honest, we all know I don’t blog regularly enough to say that it would affect any part of my life lol.  I do try though, so doesn’t that count for something.  I mean, for goodness sakes, I am sitting here on a Friday night blogging!!! 

6. What percentage of your books do you get from new book stores, second hand book stores, the library, online exchange sites, online retailers, other?

 I very rarely buy books anymore so the majority comes from the library.  I do like Half Price Books and will check there from time to time though.

7. How often do you read a book and not review it on your blog? What are your reasons for not blogging about a book?

     I seldom review books on my blog.  Who am I to give an opinion about someone’s book?  Also, if I say anything negative about a book I feel bad.  If I read something that really strikes a chord with me, then I’ll mention it.

8. What are your pet peeves about the way people treat books?

Oh goodness, I am a stickler about treating books very carefully.  I always use a bookmark or just remember the page I’m on and I never lay the book face down to hold my place.  I taught my kids and I teach all my daycare kids that books are treated with respect only.  We don’t wrinkle or tear the pages, we don’t throw them on the floor and we don’t stand on them lol.  Can you tell I’ve given that speeach a few times?  I still have many books from when my kids were little that are still in perfect condition. 

9. Do you ever read for pleasure at work?

     I do daycare in my home so we read lots here and it’s always a pleasure.  Would you like me to recite some Dr. Suess for you because I can, believe me, I can 🙂

10. When you give people books as gifts, how do you decide what to give them?

  When my kids were little I would buy them books if it’s something they were interested in.  Aside from Harry Potter, those days are long gone and I don’t know of anyone else besides me that reads?  Shameful, isn’t it?  LOL!

5 Comments »

  1. giveitatry said,

    That is a good meme!

  2. Lady Luck said,

    If you tagged me I’d do this meme – it’s fun.

    I enjoyed reading your replies.

  3. Marla said,

    Thanks Becki 🙂

    Consider yourself tagged Janine. I can’t wait to read your answers.

  4. Lady Luck said,

    Great, I’ll enjoy doing it later today! Thanks.

  5. […] blogging friend recently did an interesting meme which she tagged me to do – all about reading habits. So here is […]


Leave a Reply

