October 31, 2007

Boo to You!

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , at 3:38 pm by sillydreamer

Happy Halloween everyone!  When my kids were little, this was probably our most favorite holiday, next to Christmas of course.  We went all out and had the house decorated to the hilt.  I even made some Halloween curtains for the bay window!  LOL!  Trick or treating was da bomb and we had the best time but those days are gone.  Of course, if I would let them, they would still go trick or treating but I’m sorry-15 and 16 is waaaaay too old for that.  I know lots of people may disagree and that’s fine, that’s just the way I feel.  We’ve got plenty of candy for them and some to pass out to the neices and nephews that will show up.  I love seeing the little ones all dressed up, that’s the fun part for me! 

We live on a cul de sac so there won’t be many, if any, random trick or treaters so I usually don’t turn my light on.  Sometimes kids will come ring the bell anyway so I always have some candy on hand for that.  When we were little we knew that porch light off meant no trick or treating at that house but I guess not everyone tells their kids that.  Also, we went trick or treating by ourselves a lot.  Can you even imagine that?  And of course we didn’t know the people who’s houses we went to, we just went.  They were our neighbors so that made them safe lol.  The first several years of taking our kids, we only went to people we knew personally but the last couple of years we didn’t always know the people personally but we checked their candy very well and it was “the” trick or treating neighborhood so of course we had to go 🙂  Except for the house that had the light on but a note on the door telling us that Halloween was of the devil and they didn’t participate.  I have absolutely no problem with that way of thinking if that’s what you believe but for goodness sakes, don’t turn your light on and let some 5 year think they were getting candy but instead a shaming.  I guess they felt they were getting an extra jewel in their crown for that form of witnessing to us devil worshipping heathens…..whatever!  LOL!

So on that note, however you choose to celebrate this holiday, have a fun and safe time 🙂

3 Comments »

  1. giveitatry said,

    I remember a house that used to leave a huge planter of tootsie rolls on the front porch. I remember that we would only take one – those were the days.

  2. Yay! Happy Halloween or Blessed Samain or Healthy Harvest Time to y’all in Texas!
    I’m glad you liked the JackO Cottage!

  3. Susan said,

    “an extra jewel” You crack me up!


Leave a Reply

