October 25, 2007

My first job

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , at 3:27 pm by sillydreamer

I visited Rhonda’s blog this morning and she said she didn’t have anything to blog about and wanted us to ask her a question so I asked her about her first job.  I log in to write my post for the day and couldn’t think of a thing to write about so now I’ll be writing about my first job lol!

I was 16 and a sophmore in high school when I started working for JC Penneys.  My department was credit/catalog/giftwrapping and yes, I can wrap a mean gift!  Did you know that before there was an 800 number to order from the Penney’s catalog, you actually called the store and gave that information to a real live person who filled in a form with a pen, as in NO COMPUTER?  This also means that if an order you placed was on backorder, you had to wait a few days to find that information out.  When I started working, the company was in the middle of setting up the 800 number system so I don’t remember taking too many orders that way but the other ladies told me that during the Christmas season, they had a girl that sat under the counter and took orders over the phone all day long. 

My immediate bosses were 2 older ladies and they were very “old school” about everything.  They had both been with the company 20+ years so they knew everything there was to know about customer service so this was a good thing for me.  I think I learned very good skills from the both of them.  I had a few other co workers but mostly I worked in the evenings by myself and Saturdays from 12-9.  I think I also worked most of the Sundays by myself also.  The only downfall was that other employees weren’t trained to work in our department because there was so much more to do and the older ladies didn’t work nights so it was pretty much impossible to get an evening off.  That sucked but that’s the life of a working stiff I guess.  Actually, even thinking about it now, it makes me a little mad because there was a week-end that I wanted off to so that I could go with my classmates while they took their Cosmetology exam but they wouldn’t let me off and I had to miss out.  Those girls had fun too and I didn’t get to be there LOL! 

Now, here’s a story for you and I can’t believe I am telling this.  When I was a junior in high school, one of the girls I worked with was in her early 20s and we were friends.  She was the one who trained me and after she left we continued to be friends.  She was older and had a cool car, so why wouldn’t we?  Also, she was over 21 so she could buy alcohol.  Sssh….don’t tell.  Anyway, she bought me a 4 pack of wine coolers and brought them up to me because I had never had any before (and rightfully so, considering I was only 17)and wanted to try them.  I asked her how in the world did she think I was going to take them home because someone was going to see them.  I then get the bright idea to giftwrap them in a box and take them home, saying that I had bought a present for a friend if anyone asks.  I was as nervous as a cat that I was going to get caught but I didn’t.  Even when I was standing up front with the other employees, waiting on my ride, I was just sure someone, somehow was going to be able to tell that I was carrying a box of alcohol!  I can’t believe I did something so foolish but as the time I didn’t see it that way.

Another thing that happened while I worked there was that one of the guys who was training to be a manager actually staged a break in on a Saturday night and robbed the store!  The police knew right away that it was an inside job because the whole that was cut in the roof of the building was too small for someone to crawl through and the window to the office where the vault/safe was, was broken from the inside of the room.  Hello!!!!!  This employee showed up for work Monday morning as if everything was normal!  After the police got him to confess, he took them to his house, where he had dug a hole and buried the money.  This was a really nice guy, married to a really nice lady and I never in a million years would have ever thought he would do something like that.  It goes to show that you never know about people.  Come to find out, he had written thousands upon thousands of dollars worth of bogus cash refunds and pocketed the money.  Needless to say, things were done much differently paper wise in that store from that day on.

So that’s the story of my first job.  I ended up working there until about 6 months after I graduated high school but during my senior year I had picked up another job at an optical store so I was a senior in high school with two part time jobs.  I would have quit at Penneys but it was an easy job, and I liked the extra money and by the spring of my senior year, I was living with a roommate (the one who bought me the wine coolers lol) so I had bills to pay.  I learned at a very young age that money does indeed make the world go ’round!  🙂

2 Comments »

  1. giveitatry said,

    Great story…you need to tell more of your stories. You know, gift wrapping the coolers – that was brilliant!

  2. Susan said,

    LOL What a great first job. Mine was so boring! I agree with Beckie …MORE!!


Leave a Reply

