September 4, 2007

Tuesday’s 10

Posted in Uncategorized at 4:28 am by sillydreamer

In honor of the new school year, here’s a list of 10 teachers that left a lasting impression.  Thank you for being so wonderful!

1.  Mrs. Dewey-my second grade teacher who was just so awesome!  I idolized this woman and have the fondest memories of her reading great books to us all year.  “Charlotte’s Web”, “The Trumpet of the Swan”, “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory”, Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator”, “James and the Giant Peach” and “Stuart Little” were some of my favorites.  This was the teacher that everyone wanted to have and I enjoyed every minute of her class.

2.  Mrs. Gregory-my 4th grade teacher.  Now this was the teacher that no one wanted to have.  She was older and seemed, well, grouchy to us.  The classroom lists were always posted on the door about a week before school started so my friends and I would make countless trips up to the school to see if it was up yet.  I was so disappointed and scared when I found out I was going to be in her class that I was practically in tears by the first day.  I ended up really loving this lady.  She certainly let you know she was the boss but  was very fair and kind to me.

3.  Mrs. Johnson-my 5th grade teacher.  She was also a little “gruff” but was a lot of fun.  She really seemed to like me and we even stayed in touch after I moved away.

4.  I’m embarrassed to say that I don’t remember the name of my choir teacher in 7th grade but in my defense I only had her for a few weeks.   I had to withdraw from that school in the midst of a family crisis (looong boring story) but on the day I was pulled from the school I was asked to go sit in her room until some details were straightened out in the office.  It was her off period so it was just she and I in the room and I was very upset.  She came over to talk to me and I just broke down and told her the whole situation and of course she really didn’t know what to say so she put her arm around my shoulders and said she didn’t know what to say but would I like to pray with her.  She was very nice and I’ll always remember her kindness.

5.  Mr. Batchler-my 7th grade science teacher.  He taught me that my choice of friends were bringing me down.  Of course in the 7th grade you aren’t too receptive to that but after a couple of trips down to the office I smartened up really quick.

6.  Mrs. Ballard-my 9th grade English teacher.  She was also the pianist in our church so I knew her before I was in her class.  She was just a wonderful, sweet lady that I admired a lot.  We read “Gone With the Wind” and “Titanic” in her class and I always think of her when I think of these books.  GWTW is one of my all time favorites and I read it every 5 or 6 years.

7.  Coach Arnold-to be honest, I can’t remember what he actually taught.  I think it was history but we literally never did any of that work.  We talked about drugs, alcohol, peer pressure, sex, ect. in his class.  He was up front and honest with us and taught me that my opinions were worth sharing.  “I don’t know” wasn’t an acceptable answer in his class.  He was also a “home” kid so we had a bond.

8.  Mrs. Mulligan-my 10th grade geometry teacher.  She taught me that even though I sucked at algebra, I could do geometry.  Back in “those”days, all that was required for graduation was 2 math credits so this was the last math class I took and I was so thankful when I passed.  She wanted me to go on to Geometry II but I said thanks but no thanks to that lol!

9.  Mrs. Junkin-my cosmetology teacher.  She rocked!  To get myself out of P.E. I signed up for cometology because my best friend was also taking it.  It was a 3 hour course so her class was my home away from home for 2 years.   She was totally cool and we had lots of fun in her class.

10.  Mrs. Morgan-not my teacher but the first teacher two of my daughter’s had.  She was the perfect combination……kind and loving but always in control of her class.   I wish everyone could start their kindergarteners off with a Mrs. Morgan 🙂

Leave a Reply

