May 11, 2007

My next to favorite day

Posted in Uncategorized at 5:45 pm by sillydreamer

 Saturday is my favorite day but Friday is next on my list.  The weather is nice for the moment but this is Texas so that could all change in a moment’s notice.  We are supposed to go to my neice and nephew’s birthday party at the lake so I’m sure it will probably rain for that.  Ask me if I’ve bought my gift yet.  That would be a big no so you know what I’ll be doing this evening. 

Tomorrow night is the drill team banquet and I will be glad to get that over with.  I know this makes me a horrible Mom and person in general, but I don’t care to attend these things.  I wouldn’t say that to my kids but I am so over these school functions and I don’t mean for the year, I mean forever.  But I will put my big girl panties on, smile and attend like a good Mom and person should.  After all, what else would I be doing on a Saturday night anyway?  

2 Comments »

  1. clevergrl said,

    While I do see that it would be annoying to go to these events all the time, count your blessings! My stepdaughter lives in Utah (we are in NY) so we don’t get to go to ANY school events. My husband didn’t even know about Dads and Donuts Day until two days before. Yes, her mother and teacher are that thoughtful that they don’t tell us about these things. My stepdaughter was so disappointed that he couldn’t come, and so embaressed that her grandfather took her. It was not cool.

  2. sillydreamer said,

    Clevergirl, I’m sorry that you are in that position. I was married before and have a daughter with my first hubby and the four of us (my hub, his wife) have a very good relationship. We are all on the same page about everything and genuinely enjoy each other. As a matter of fact, we spend all holidays together and we are all going on vacation to Disney next month. I know our situation is pretty unique but I do wish that all divorced and step parents could get along half as well as we do. It totally rocks for everyone involved 🙂


Leave a Reply

