April 20, 2007

Aaarrrggghhh

Posted in Uncategorized at 6:41 pm by sillydreamer

I know this might make me a horrible Mother but there are some days when I want my kids to be grown and gone.  Even writing it down makes me feel such shame but sometimes I just want to be done with the teen age years.  Today would be one of those days.

 I love my kids dearly but sometimes they make me want to pound my head into the wall.  I have to really work hard on remembering that they are just teen-agers but that sometimes is the part that makes me the most scared.  In just 3 years they will be legal adults….actually 2 for Haley.  YIKES! 

How do you make a child understand that she has to do her work in school?  How do you make a child understand that the junvenile delinquent friends she has are only going to get her into trouble?  How do you make a child understand that the bad haircut (which really looks fine) isn’t the end of the world?  How do you make a child understand that I don’t care what everyone else’s Mom lets them do, I only care about my children?

Love is a funny thing isn’t it?  Sometimes I am so overwhelmed with how much I love these kids and sometimes I am so overwhelmed with wanting to pitch them right out the front door LOL.  My saving grace for feeling like this is knowing that there are days when they feel the exact same way about me!  I used to think when they were babies that that would be the most difficult time in raising them.  Boy, oh boy was I ever wrong!  I never agonized over the decisions I made for them as babies like I do now that they are teen-agers. 

I guess I will just keep doing what I feel is the best for them and hope that it all turns out alright in the end.  When they’re babies you joke about not getting the instruction book but I could sure use one to refer to from time to time 🙂

Leave a Reply

