June 22, 2009

I’m Not Willy Nilly

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , , at 2:39 pm by sillydreamer

bitsquiltfrnt I originally saw this idea for a quilt at someone’s blog, either here or here, I can’t remember which and thought I have to do this.  This is so easy and carefree and so stinking cute.  Two out of three aren’t bad I guess.  Actually it is very simple……randomly cut small squares of colored fabric and then box them in on three sides with white.  The problem I have is I don’t work well on the fly apparently.  I do better with specific sizes and precise instructions on how to put it all together.  Too bad for me because I do really love the random look of it.  Originally this was going to be lap size but decided to cut what I had put together in half and make two very generous doll quilts or two skimpy crib size quilts :-)

 

 

 

bitsquiltcloseAnother reason for choosing to make two smaller sizes is because this was my first attempt at machine quilting.  I think it went ok for a first try.  It’s definately something you have to practice, practice, practice to get it just right.  To be honest, I really like the look of  my hand stitched quilts better and I enjoy hand quilting but I will try my hand at machine quilting again and get better at it.

 

 

 

 

 

bitsquiltbackAnother pieced back.  I am slowly but surely working my way through my small stash of fabric so i will feel justified in buying more lol. 

Oh and one more thing I learned.  I wish I could remember where I got this tip from because it’s so smart and helpful.  When putting the quilt “sandwich” together I would always lay the back down first, then the batting and finally the top.  Thanks to some smart soul in cyberland I now know it’s much easier to lay your batting down then center up the top on that.  Trim it to the correct size, then roll it up and put it aside.  Lay your back down and unroll your top/batting combo onto that.   It makes the process so much easier and faster!  Now why didn’t I think of that??   I hope that tip helps someone as much as it helped me.

3 Comments »

  1. Author said,

    Love the random quilt – really pretty!

  2. Shari said,

    Love these quilts! Before our girls were born I always had a quilting project going. These days I dream about quilting more than I actually get to do it!

  3. Shari said,

    I really like the animal fabric in the bottom quilt photo too.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

