June 15, 2009

It Feels Like Home

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , at 12:44 pm by sillydreamer

We’ve now been in the new house 6 months and it feels like we are all settled in.  Sometimes it feels like we’ve been here forever, which is a good thing.  However, there are a few things about the old house that I miss very much.  One of them, probably the main one, is that every spring and summer for the last few years, I would have doves come and build their nests underneath our patio awning.  I know I probably drove my family crazy climbing up on the kitchen sink and snapping pictures every day of the mama and her family.  dovefamily That mama (or I guess it could have been the daddy) would sit up there for weeks without leaving.  Once the little babies had hatched, I knew I had about 3 weeks and they would fly away.  One time I actually got to watch the babies fly away from the nest!  This should tell you just how much time I spent watching to be able to catch that moment!   doves 

Because this is a newer subdivision we don’t have big trees and we don’t have a covered patio either so I have no birds to watch.  Poor me!  However this past week-end Danny noticed that there were birds flying in and out of one of our bushes so he went over to see what all the fuss was about.  nest 001 

Isn’t that cool?  I am so thrilled to know that there is a new birdie family staying at my house, even if I can’t watch them!

1 Comment »

  1. Author said,

    What a fabulous find. Let’s hope the local cats don’t find that nest. It might be worth spraying anti-cat spray just around that bush to try and protect them. Make sure it wont harm the cats though!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

