June 12, 2009

It’s Been Awhile

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , , at 4:31 pm by sillydreamer

twinsI can’t believe I haven’t posted since the end of April!   How can that be?  Life has just been rolling on by.  Oldest daughter has graduated high school.  She is enrolled in a local college here in town and has already started taking one class online.   We are thrilled that she has  a plan and is pursuing it!  grad 

We are also very thrilled that Heather and Holly passed their last year of TAKS in school so NO MORE TAKS for us.  If you aren’t from Texas you won’t understand the stress relief this is.  You can be a straigh A student, not pass the TAKS test and not be able to graduate from high school so this is great news for us.  Heather didn’t pass the math part last year so we were a little worried.  Not only did she pass the math this year, she was commended lol.  Yay!!! 

Hubby has started a new job that will be better fit for him and closer to the amount of money he was making before so this is a good thing for all of us.  The only drawback is that it’s over an hour away, which I know for most people that’s nothing but it will be an adjustment for him because he’s always worked within 15 minutes of his job.  We are just very thankful that he was hired with this company, no matter where it is! 

 dannyandgirlsBy the way, Heather is in the red shirt and Holly in the black and white.

 

My daycare is doing well.  I have the same two little boys but my little baby girl is spending the summer with her Mom, who is a school nurse, but she will be back in the fall.  I know this because she is paying to hold her spot so that is a blessing for me.  I am watching another 3 year old boy a couple of days a week which is also a blessing because it gives my current 3 year old a playmate.

On a sad note I found out last week that my younger brother passed away from melanoma.  I really don’t have any other details than that because we weren’t close and hadn’t spoken to each other in more than 15 years.  No hard feelings or anything, we just didn’t have a typical brother/sister relationship.   We hadn’t lived in the same house since I was about 9 and once I was 16 he moved away and we had next to no contact with each other through the years.  However I was sad to hear of his passing, especially given the fact he was only 36 years old.

So that’s my life as of late.  I’ve got a few quilting projects I am working on but nothing really to share yet.  I’m hoping to find some time to get something, anything finished lol!

4 Comments »

  1. Beckie said,

    I was SO excited to see you pop up in my reader this morning! I’m glad everything is going well. That’s sad about your brother. I understand sibling relationships like you have described – we have some of those in our families.

    I hope you can find some time to post some more this summer – I’ve missed you.

    BTW, Great pictures of the fam!

  2. sillydreamer said,

    Thanks Beckie :-)

  3. Author said,

    Hi Marla,

    The girls look so grown up and gorgeous. And glad hub has a new job – it’s always a worry when unemployment strikes.

    I’m very sad to hear about your brother. 36 is way too young to die. Even if you were not in contact with him, I can understand how hearing this awful news will have hit you hard. Sincere condolances for what once was, and what might have been, and for your loss.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

