March 23, 2009

Treading lightly

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , at 6:47 pm by sillydreamer

I don’t mean to wish time away but I will say that I am looking forward to not having to deal with school issues.  Thankfully we have had very, very little things come up over the girls’ school career but when they do, I don’t like having to deal with it. 

Heather has been taking a ceramics class this year.  She liked it a lot at first but after a few weeks she was not that into it.  She did tell me the teacher was very cool and she liked him.  That basically translated into he didn’t really care what the kids did as long as they didn’t bother him.  How do I know this is true?  Heather stopped attending his class, opting to go hang out in her twin sister’s class instead on those days, and not once was she counted absent.  She even told me that she wasn’t going and that he never checked roll anyway.   I told her she had better be careful and whatever counsequences she received if she got caught was on her.  She’s 17, what can I say?  Of course I told her she needs to do the right thing and go but she’s going to do what she wants and be honest, if you could skip a class and still make a 100 in there, wouldn’t you?  I am serious about the 100 grade.  She’s made it every single grade period and also on a final exam that she wasn’t even there to take!

Like I said, Heather liked the teacher and thought he was cool.  She said all he did was sit in his office and talked to other students that would come hang out in there with him and listen to Bob Marley.  She also told me that he asked her if the ceramic turtle she made was high because he had red eyes.  Go figure!  LOL!  I  think that’s an innappropriate thing to say to a student but that’s his business.  It didn’t offend me but it does make me think he’s not very smart but whatever.

Several weeks ago I got a call from the teacher of the class that Heather has been hanging out in instead of her own.   She wanted me to k now that Heather is always in there and was I aware of that.  I told her yes, that I did know and I would tell her to start going to her own class and for her to call me if she showed back up in there.  She asked me where she was supposed to be and I told her.  She found it very interesting that not once was she ever counted absent for not being in there.  I told her it was interesting that she was making a 100 for her grade.  Apparently the teacher went and told on the other teacher because now Heather is failing.  She’s actually attending the class and failing!

Of course I want to tell this teacher that I know all about him not checking roll and passing her anyway but I don’t want to make too many waves since she has to be in there for the rest of the year.  He and I have exchanged a few emails about her grade and what she needs to do so I think for now that’s about all I can do.  There’s so much more that I want to do but for now I think treading lightly and dropping subtle hints to him that I know what the real deal is will be enough to at least let her pass the class.  Only one year after this of having to worry about teachers anyway :-)

1 Comment »

  1. Author said,

    It’s a pity they don’t make the classes more interesting then the students would want to be there. I can understand her reasoning for not going.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

