March 9, 2009

My New Toy

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , , , at 7:17 pm by sillydreamer

Apologies first for not blogging in so long.   Let’s just blame that on Facebook, ok.

Now on to the fun stuff!!!

I have been looking around for a new sewing machine for awhile now.  I love my little Singer Simple but let’s be honest, there’s not much to it.  I knew that when I bought it but I didn’t really know how much sewing and quilting I would do so I didn’t want to invest too much.  I had been pricing them in the stores but in the spirit of not wanting to shell out too much money, I turned to my good old faithful Craigslist.   I would check several times a day and finally Saturday night one popped up that caught my eye.  I mulled it over until about noon on Sunday and I called the owner and made plans to go get it.  Isn’t she a beaut??  It’s a Brother NV-600.

brotherThe lady had taken impeccable care of it and decided it was time for an upgrade for her since she was getting more into machine embroidery.  She bought it 4 years ago and paid over $900.  She sold it to me for $350 :-)))))  I did some research online and found that I could still buy this machine brand new anywhere from $500 to $800 so you know this makes me love the machine even more.  It has features that I know I’ll never figure out but I will have fun trying.  Here’s the best part……sewingaccess

A tray full of feet!!!!!  How exciting is that??  Do you have any idea how easily you can sew a denim rag quilt with a walking foot?  I do now!!!  And this…..quiltingfoot

a foot for free motion quilting!!!  I am over the moon about it all. 

 

I really hesitated about spending the money for this but it was such a good deal, I couldn’t resist.  Even my husband, who is way more frugal than I am, told me I should get it and I’m so glad I did.  I am going to finish hand quilting the Love quilt and then my next quilt will be done on the machine so I can’t wait to get started.  I have already started practicing with small scraps of material and batting because it’s going to take quite a bit of practice to get it down but I’m up for the challenge.

4 Comments »

  1. Congrats on your new toy!!!
    I keep going back and forth about whether or not to buy a sewing machine. I really wouldn’t use it THAT much, and would have to find a place to store it (and that’s the problem! LOL)

  2. sillydreamer said,

    You should get one! You may surprise yourself on how much you do actually use it. Since we’ve moved here I actually have a table in my bedroom so that I can leave mine out but until then I would have to get it out and sew on the kitchen table or countertop and then put it up when I was done but it worked out just fine.

  3. Author said,

    Nice toy! Looking forward to seeing what you create with it.

  4. händigeCarl said,

    can the machine NV-600 and NV-1500 sew in all direcktion! the foot cant twist 90 degres?
    can your NV-600 sew button? has read that NV-50 can?
    i looking for my first sewmachine and don´t wichone to chose!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

